GRWM | Occupational Therapy Ball

16 comments
Makeup

IMG_1698

Last Friday night I attended my university’s annual Occupational Therapy Ball which was held at Victoria Park Golf Course. This night marked an opportunity to celebrate the achievements and hard work of my fellow peers and lecturers and boy did we celebrate hard! As I was getting ready for the event, I thought it would be nice to document my hair and makeup for future prom/formal/ball goers and remember the occasion for myself.

IMG_1715

My friend Georgia who looked absolutely gorgeous!

Firstly, let’s start with hair. For this occasion I decided to do a teased updo with a low bun so I was able to showcase the dress’s halter neck and elongate my face. To achieve the look I used a backcombing brush, bobby pins, a hair tie, dry shampoo and lots and lots of hairspray. By using dry shampoo, it adds texture to my hair and is able to hold the teasing better throughout the night. Overall this is a pretty easy hairstyle to pull off and doesn’t require many steps or complicated procedures so is great for those (like me) who aren’t very skilful with this kind of thing.

IMG_1767

haircollage

Moving on to makeup, I decided to do a bronzy/gold smokey eye and nude lip which I thought would compliment my dress nicely. There are however a few steps to this eye look so I have broken it down into 9 steps which hopefully will make it easier to follow and demonstrate. For this makeup look in particular, I used the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in “Bad to the Bronze”, the Urban Decay Naked Palette and some Makeup Geek shadows, both of which have amazing pigmentation and blendability.

smokyeyecollageone.jpg

smokeyeyecollage2.jpg

IMG_1837

To prime my face I used my favourite Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer and foundation wise I decided to stick with my trusty Nars Sheer Glow and Radiant Creamy concealer, applying it with my Real Techniques Sponge. This foundation in particular is great for formal events as it doesn’t contain an SPF and gives a decent amount of coverage with a beautiful glow. To contour and highlight I used the same method as I talked about in my previous Contouring and Highlighting post and opted for a more neutral blush shade with Nars Douceur (which to my dismay is discontinued). To tame the brows, I used the Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade and Tinted Brow Gel and for lips I used MAC Angel and the Clarins Instant Light Lip Perfector in Nude to top it off. Finally, to set my all my makeup I applied the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light and sprayed my face with MAC Fix+ for a dewy finish.

IMG_1841

IMG_1844

IMG_1846

IMG_1848

Here is the finished makeup look, I hope you found it easy to follow along with and hopefully some of you might find it useful for upcoming events or even when you’re going out.

IMG_1854

IMG_1861

Please do let me know if you liked this style of post and what some of your go to formal makeup looks or hairstyles are!

Izzy xx

Follow this post on Bloglovin’

Posted by

Hi I'm Isabel, 19 years old and a second year Occupational Therapy student. I have a passion for makeup, skincare and everything beauty and enjoy collecting makeup. You are welcome to contact me on isabel.batista113@gmail.com or follow me on my social media platforms: Instagram: @confessionsofamakeuphoarder Twitter: @izzyb113 I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing and posting. - Izzy xx

16 thoughts on “GRWM | Occupational Therapy Ball”

  1. Hollie Garner says:

    Lovely post with some fab tips,really enjoyed it and Mac is my fav lippy. You looked amazing Izzy,what a beautiful dress,hope you had a lovely time! xx

    Like

  2. Ah you look absolutely gorgeous! Really love your dress and your makeup looks so amazing and flawless! MAC Angel is one of my favourite shades! x

    Like

Leave a Comment!

