Makeup Mix-Up | Winter to Spring Edit

7 comments
Makeup

IMG_1516

With the cold winter months coming to an end, us girls in the southern Hemisphere will be wiping away the berry coloured stains from our lips and opting for the more pastel pinks and corals hues of spring. It is at this time of the year, I feel like my makeup tends to changed up and get swapped around the most so here are a couple of my tips to achieve the perfect fresh, dewy, springtime look.

Dewy Base: There are a few different ways of achieving this look using different products. If you’ve got dry to normal skin the easiest way of achieving this is to just wear a glowy foundation such as Nars Sheer Glow or L’oreal True Match Lumi. For those oily to combo skined girls out there, you can still use a illuminating foundation but you will have to powder over it depending on how oily you get. Another alternative could be to use an illuminating primer such as Benefit That Gal underneath your foundation to give you that “glow from within” and wont make you look like a disco ball. Alternatively you can use a dewy setting spray like MAC Fix+ to give you that all over fresh and natural looking base.

Natural Eyes: Unless you’re going out clubbing or for a special event, keep it simple! Personally, I enjoy taking a light champagne shade all over the lid and use a bit of my bronzer to define the crease. Another tip is to curl your lashes! This opens up your eyes so much more and with a bit of mascara, you’ve got yourself a really easy, natural look that still draws attention to your eyes.

IMG_1521

Glowy Cheeks: Because it’s still spring, we haven’t quite hit that “Victoria Secret model sun-kissed bronze” stage yet but we still love a good glow with a nice pop of colour on the cheeks. One way of achieving this would be to use a nice peach/pastel pink/coral blush on the apples of your cheeks such as Jouer “Peony” or Revlon cream blush in “Pinched”. Just above where you placed the blush, add a small bit of cream or powder highlighter to define your cheek bones like MAC Soft and Gentle or Benefit Watt’s Up. You can also still use a bit of bronzer all over the face or to contour but the focus should be the colour and glow on your cheeks.

IMG_1525

Bright Lips: Gone are the days of dark berry’s and plums, we are making room for the hot pinks and corals! A bold lip is an easy way to pull a whole look together and complete it and the bright colours just scream spring and summer as most of these lip colours will reflect bubbly and fun atmosphere that this season brings with it.

If you have any other suggestions for achieving the perfect spring look, please feel free to leave a comment!

Izzy xx

Posted by

Hi I'm Isabel, 19 years old and a second year Occupational Therapy student. I have a passion for makeup, skincare and everything beauty and enjoy collecting makeup. You are welcome to contact me on isabel.batista113@gmail.com or follow me on my social media platforms: Instagram: @confessionsofamakeuphoarder Twitter: @izzyb113 I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing and posting. - Izzy xx

7 thoughts on “Makeup Mix-Up | Winter to Spring Edit”

  1. I always like to have my freckles showing through once the seasons change! It just looks so fresh and youthful. My favorite spring/summer eyeshadow is MAC’s All That Glitters. It’s seriously SO pretty!

    Like

    • If I had freckles, I think that would look great for the springtime! Ooh I’m yet to try that, I might just have to check it out now. Thanks so much for reading! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post! I love Mac Soft and Gentle for making my skin look glowy. I kind of feel bare when I don’t have any highlighter on, its my favourite product to use. I don’t contour everyday but I always make sure I wear highlighter. I need to try Watts Up! I keep looking at it but never buy it!

    Like

Leave a Comment!

