Back to Basics | Current Skincare Routine

12 comments
Skincare

IMG_1470

 

Today we will be stepping out of the makeup world to have a look at a few of my favourite and current skincare bits. Personally, I feel like skincare is one of those things that you don’t necessarily always want to do but you know you have to in order to reap the benefits. Kinda like eating vegetables, or exercising… Anyway, here is my current skincare routine. Its not extremely complicated, but there are a few added steps between my morning and night time routines as well as a few things I like to do on occasion to keep my skin looking its best!

IMG_1474

MORNING ROUTINE: First off, I will always wash my face with a cleanser. I’m currently using the Murad Blemish Control Clarifying Cleanser and I really enjoy it. It leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshing rather than tight and stripped like some gel cleansers can do. I will then follow up with my Kiehls Calendula Alcohol Free Facial Toner which apparently restores the pH balance in your skin and prevents excess oil production. Finally I will apply my Neutrogena Oil Free Moisturiser with SPF15 to add some moisture back into my skin. I particularly enjoy this product as it is lightweight, dissolves evenly into the skin and has an SPF15 which is very important for protecting yourself from the sun.

IMG_1480

NIGHT TIME ROUTINE: So usually after a long day of school, uni or work doing a 50 step skincare routine is probably the last thing we all want to be doing right? Well, although my night time routine incorporates a couple more steps than my morning one, it can be accomplished in under 5 minutes so you can focus on the more important things, like sleep. (Am I right?) First, I’ll start by taking off my makeup with the Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil which does an excellent job of breaking it down and doesn’t sting my face or eyes. I will then double cleanse with my Murad face wash and tone with my Kiehls toner again to make sure I’ve got all the makeup off my face. Now here’s where it starts to change a bit. I will apply about a pea sized amount of the La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo on my face every night and this stuff is honestly my holy grail of skincare products. This stuff will make your blemishes disappear almost overnight! Following this, I often apply a serum in the form of rosehip oil on my face at night. The one that I’ve been using recently has been from Trilogy. I find that the morning after I put this on, my skin looks glowing and hydrated but not shiny at all. Afterwards, I will apply moisturiser like normal but I recently I have started using the Garnier Dark Spot Corrector in the hopes that it will help with my hyperpigmentation. I don’t think I’ve been wearing it long enough to be able to see a difference yet but I’ll keep you posted. Finally, I finish off by applying the Kiehls Creamy Avocado Eye Treatment underneath my eyes to keep the skin hydrated and more importantly, to prevent any fine lines or wrinkles from coming through. I mean, you can never start too early right?

ONCE IN A WHILE: About once every week, I enjoy doing a face mask. They will often be in the form of either a hydrating one like the Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Face Mask or a clarifying one like the Aesop Camomile Concentrate Clay Mask. The Origins one is great because you use it like you would a moisturiser by applying it and leaving it on overnight. With the Aesop one however, you apply a thin layer over your face and leave it on for about 10-15 minutes until it completely hardens and then wash it off with warm water. I find this mask great if you want to give your skin a deep clean and pull out all the impurities.

So there you have it, there’s my current morning and night time skincare routines with a few extra bits thrown in there. Hopefully they’re not too complicated to follow along with and if you have any suggestions of any skincare products I should try for oily/combo skin, be sure to let me know in the comments!

Izzy xx

Posted by

Hi I'm Isabel, 19 years old and a second year Occupational Therapy student. I have a passion for makeup, skincare and everything beauty and enjoy collecting makeup. You are welcome to contact me on isabel.batista113@gmail.com or follow me on my social media platforms: Instagram: @confessionsofamakeuphoarder Twitter: @izzyb113 I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing and posting. - Izzy xx

12 thoughts on “Back to Basics | Current Skincare Routine”

  1. Love your post on this skin care routine. I just went through the learning process of how important it is to take off your makeup at night and take care of your skin! I haven’t tried Kiels yet, but I really want to now!

    I am happy I just found your blog and I am following you! Please come visit me too at http://melissygoose.blogspot.com/ Thanks for letting me read, i look forward to your next post!

    Like

  2. We were previously using the garnier dark spot corrector but we found that it wasn’t making much difference. Lately though we’ve started using rosehip oil which we think has lightened up some of our pigmentation. Great post keep it up!

    M + K

    Like

    • Oh really? That’s a little disappointing but I definitely enjoy using the rosehip oil so maybe I’ll just keep up with that. Thanks so much for the comment and i’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂 xx

      Like

  3. graciebeautyfashionlifestyle says:

    Hi! I nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award because i love your blog! Just look at my last post for the details. 🙂 😀 And great routine, very informative!

    Like

  4. Great review! I’ve heard wonderful things about the The Origins mask and will have to get a sample at Sephora to try it out. I like how you can put it on overnight and not have to worry about washing it off 🙂 – Lena

    Felinecreatures.com

    Like

    • Thanks so much for reading, it really is a great one for just nourishing your skin and also really good for travelling with too! Definitely give it a go 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment!

