Sick Day Remedies

3 comments
Tips and Tricks

IMG_1266

After managing to get myself sick for what feels like the 100th time this year, I feel like I’ve become somewhat of an expert when it comes to figuring out what things are going to get me better, faster and activities to keep me busy for the many hours stuck at home and in bed. Grab yourself a cup of tea and get under those covers cause here are a couple of my suggestions of things to do when you’re sick day.

IMG_1267

 

1. Hydrate.  This is super important as your skin starts to get dryer and you’re loosing a lot of body fluid through blowing your nose or sweating. This also helps to prevent headaches and if you’re suffering from a sore throat, try drinking lemon, honey and with some hot water to soothe your throat and help build up your immune system to fight off the cold.

2. Moisturise.  I don’t know about you, but when I get sick my skin gets very dry and my lips start to crack. I recommend using something like the Origins Drink Up Intensive Mask which can be used as an overnight mask to restore moisture back into your skin and stop it from looking so dull. To combat those cracked lips, keep a moisturising lip balm on hand such as the Carmex Lip Balm – I personally enjoy the strawberry flavour -.

3. Soothe. Vicks VapoRub, need I say more? This stuff is like liquid gold if you’ve got a blocked nose, sore throat or a cough. I like to apply it around my nose, down my throat and on my chest especially at night time which helps me to get a better night’s sleep. I also like to dissolve a teaspoon of it in a bowl of hot water and inhale the steam to clear my nose, throat and chest.

4. Prepare.  Make sure you have lots and lots of tissues or anything else you may need on hand so you’re not having to get up and out of bed all the time to get it.

5. Rest and Recover. Resting or sleeping is one of the best things you can do when you are sick as it allows your body to generate new white blood cells to help build your immune system and fight off the cold. However, during those times you just can’t seem to get to sleep, grab yourself a good book or in my case, watch numerous seasons of your favourite TV shows to keep your mind occupied.

I hope this post helped some of you who may be feeling unwell and gave you a couple of tips to get better soon. If you have any of your own sick day remedies please be sure to let me know!

Izzy xx

Posted by

Hi I'm Isabel, 19 years old and a second year Occupational Therapy student. I have a passion for makeup, skincare and everything beauty and enjoy collecting makeup. You are welcome to contact me on isabel.batista113@gmail.com or follow me on my social media platforms: Instagram: @confessionsofamakeuphoarder Twitter: @izzyb113 I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing and posting. - Izzy xx

3 thoughts on “Sick Day Remedies”

Leave a Comment!

